cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drill down from one dataset(sql table 1) to another(sql table 2).

reema
7 - Data Storage
7 - Data Storage

I am fairly new to sisense.  I have this situation as below:

I have connected sisense to a "Sample Sales" SQL Server Database with 2 Tables:

Database : Sales_db

Tables :

1. tb_sales_summary :

reema_2-1652970547535.png

2.  tb_sales :

reema_3-1652970630446.png

In Sisense I have done an inner join on these two tables on field "Order_year" just to keep things simple for fetching data on drill down.   [My approach may be wrong here.]

My concern is how do I drill down from tb_sales_summary to tb_sales table, say for example to get the quarterly, monthly, by week, days report with correct calculations for revenue.

Drill down like:

Year, Revenue

Quarterly, Revenue

Month, Revenue, etc

In the Sisense Dashboard I want to show Year, Revenue fields both from Summary table[tb_sales_summary] only as it will be faster that way on first glance.

reema_0-1652973075464.png

Instead of showing a Pivot of details table getting the Summary[On dashboard : which can take more processing time in case of millions of records] and then drilling down further in the same table itself, Is there any way of drill down between 2 tables i.e first showing a Summary table(which will show up faster) which is then able to Drill Down into Details Table(tb_sales) as it will be more efficient that way.

I found this on sisense community where they say there are limitations with Pivot table for performing drill down between different details or views. Let me know if there is any other approach for same.

https://community.sisense.com/t5/build-analytics/what-are-your-preferred-ways-for-making-a-lot-of-de...

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

HamzaJ
12 - Data Integration
12 - Data Integration

Hi @reema 

I think there are multiple ways to accomplish what you want to achieve;