Co-Authoring imrpovements
Summary: Anhelina Kravchenko suggests several improvements for the co-authoring feature. They propose allowing users to move progress from a private to a shared copy to prevent errors caused by defaulting to private mode. They also recommend adding version control for easier correction of mistakes and improving the process of disabling co-authoring to prevent loss of unpublished changes.
Co-authoring feature could use the following improvements for smoother experience:
Add a way for moving progress from a Private to Shared copy.
Editing a published dashboard defaults to Private mode (even for the owner/co-author). Together with inability to move progress between Private and Shared copies, makes it easy to add progress to an incorrect copy. Need to improve on this.
Add version control. Currently, if you make a mistake, there is no “undo” button or option for rollback
Once enabled, if you then want to disable Co-authoring, the shared copies of dashboards are deleted. For each dashboard, its remaining owner retains their private copy, which becomes the owner copy. Any unpublished changes from the shared modes will be lost. Need to add a better way to manage this process.